Navigating the wheat free, gluten free diet

Not only did I receive my custom-made cereal lightning fast (in about two days), but I also got an e-mail from the founder, Hajo Engelke.  Turns out they really liked the name of my cereal (named after this blog of course), and featured it on their blog.  Even more exciting,  Hajo had read my blog post and wanted to clear things up personally about the shipping issue.

Here’s what he said:

I saw your blog entry and wanted to apologize for the obvious confusion regarding the shipping cost.  The deal is that there is a $3.80 flat rate charge, and $1.00 for each bag, i.e. $4.80 for the first bag and only $1.00 for each bag you add to an order.  We are aware that that’s not cheap.  While we are already working on a solution to lower shipping costs, we are already cross-subsidizing it.
Thanks for your understanding and have a great weekend.
Best,
Hajo

So yes, shipping costs a lot, but it’s not a bad deal if you buy in bulk, which I will be doing.  My simple corn-flake cereal with organic raisins is the perfect Raisin Bran substitute, especially with a sprinkle of sugar on top.  I was truly impressed by the transparency of this company.  Let’s hope it sticks around.

-Taylor

Comments on: "Custom Choice Cereal: Best Customer Service Ever?" (2)

  1. I’d be more happy for you if they featured it on their newspaper, but whatevs.

    Kudos to you. Hopefully one day you will be recognized by legit media outlets.

  2. Jen Abrams said:

    Hey Taylor! I randomly stumbled upon your page in my search for gluten free food for a trip I’m taking soon to Savannah. You are the first celiac I know of in Gville. I’ve sent you a fb request, I’d love to learn more about gluten free in gville. I just moved back here (went to college here when I wasn’t gluten free) so I’m having a hard time finding places to eat.

    Talk to you soon! Jen

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

