Navigating the wheat free, gluten free diet

On Friday I rather reluctantly agreed to attend the going-away party of a secretary from another UF department.  I was only slightly worried about intruding upon the party, the guest of honor of which I had never met before.  What gave me the most pause was the fact that the party was being held at BJ’s Brewhouse.  As you can guess by the name, the place brews its own beers and, at least on the surface, seems like your typical American eatery where they seem to sprinkle gluten onto foods that normally wouldn’t have gluten in them.  See: BJ’s Giant Stuffed Potatoes.

This time, though, I was pleasantly surprised to see that BJ’s had hopped on the gluten free bandwagon since the last time we’d met.

BJ's Gluten Free menu

My only complaint is that, according to BJ’s’ allergen menu, this is pretty much the only thing you can get at BJ’s if you’re looking to eat GF.  However, you can wash the pizza down with a nice, cold Redbridge, as the menu suggests.

So the menu may still be a little limited, but the good news is the pizza is tasty. And you can get it with all the BJ’s toppings except meatballs.  When I ordered it, my waitress asked if it was an allergy issue (easier to say yes than explain the whole autoimmune disorder thing) and told me she’d let the kitchen know.

For $9.95 you get a regular cheese pizza, but for $3 more you can fill it with toppings.  I chose sausage, pineapple and fresh basil.

BJ's GF Pizza

The portion was just as enormous as anything anyone else gets at BJ’s, and I really didn’t feel singled out at all, not by the company I was with or the company I was supporting.

-Taylor

Comments on: "BJ’s Brewhouse is surprisingly gluten free friendly" (3)

  1. I recently tried BJ’s gluten free pizza too! I really enjoyed it. It was also nice being able to order a beer =).

    My name’s Katie by the way!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

