Navigating the wheat free, gluten free diet

The nice thing about a light spring dinner is that it leaves plenty of room for a light spring dessert.  After seeing the fresh juicy strawberries my friend brought over the other night, I couldn’t get my mind off of strawberry shortcake.  A quick Google search led me to a Food.com recipe that required only ingredients I already had in my house.  30 minutes later I was looking at my beautiful little cupcake-shaped shortcakes, ready to devour them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What you’ll need:

-1/2 cup butter

-1 cup confectioner’s sugar

-4 eggs

-1 tsp. vanilla

-1 cup cornstarch

-1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder

-1 pint fresh strawberries, slice and marinated in sugar (optional)

-store bought or fresh made whipped cream

What you’ll do:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease a 12-muffin pan.

-In a large bowl cream butter and sugar, using electric mixer.

-Add the eggs and vanilla. Beat until light and fluffy.

-In a small bowl mix the cornstarch and baking powder together and add slowly to the creamed mixture. (If added too quickly, it will fly about the kitchen.).

-Mix until well blended.

-Fill the greased muffin tins half full.

-Bake for 15 minutes. (Test with a toothpick, after 15 minutes, even if the top looks shiny).

-Remove from the pan while still warm. (They will look like little cupcakes.But trust me they will taste just like little shortcakes).

-Serve topped with strawberries and whipped cream.

It makes 12 mini-cakes and we ate four, so I’m looking forward to shortcake for the rest of the week.  Enjoy!
-Taylor
Comments on: "The Best Gluten-free Shortcake" (3)

  1. This looks delicious! I have a ton of strawberries at home, so I want to try this recipe out.

    Also, do you mind if we add you to our blog roll?

    -Katie

    • Please do! All 12 of my yummy little shortcakes are gone (it only took two days), but they did start to dry out after the first night. Definitely keep them sealed in tupperware!

  2. plainjane said:

    These look so good. Did I tell you, I keep seeing gluten-free things everywhere. I keep fighting the urge to tell you every time I see something that looks good and is gluten-free.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

