Navigating the wheat free, gluten free diet

Happy Saturday, everyone.

A representative of Boucherie in New Orleans, James Denio, was a couple days late in getting back to me about their gluten-free options, but when he did he was more that willing to be of help.  From what I heard, this place is a must-try and I will definitely make time for it if ever I go back to the Crescent City.  It turns out they were closed around Mardi Gras time anyway – so I wouldn’t have been able to go even if I had heard back in time.   Still,  I thought I’d share his helpful information for anyone planning a gluten-free Nola trip:

Hey Taylor,
Sorry about the lateness of my reply.  We do have a gluten free menu. What I do is I go through our current menu (we change it monthly) and highlight all the ingredients that contain gluten.  It turns out to be a very friendly menu for the population with Gluten allergies.  I hope this finds you well, and if indeed you are in the city still don’t hesitate when we arrive at the restaurant to ask our server about gluten free options; our chef is well versed in such matters.
-James

So there you go. I found that most servers in the city were happy to help if they could.  The only problem was when they weren’t sure what contained wheat and what didn’t.  I did have to assure one woman I could eat rice.

Bon appetit!

-Taylor

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

